Hello Vets,

In the Bleat this week;

  • From the Desk of the Handicapper
  • Racing this Week
  • From the Race Committee
  • Race Reports

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton

From the Desk of the Handicapper


Don’t miss it!

This Saturday’s Breadalbane, Memorial Handicap is going to be ripper. Previously we’ve run this handicap the other way finishing on the hill just outside of Gunning. We haven’t run this race in a few years but I can remember following the Don/Ashley tandem from Gunning as part of the A2s at what seemed like 50km/h average for the first leg with the wind. Such was our advantage that scratch never caught us but, of course, the tandem outsmarted us all by attacking on a downhill section after the Cullerin Range on the return leg and never looked back. This year there’ll probably be a headwind on the way out from Breadalbane so grades will need to get the balance right between sharing turns and keeping the group together. Then there are the steeper hills to cope with on the way back to Breadalbane where maintaining the group might still be the priority, but after crossing the railway track on the way back it will have to be full gas to the fin ish.

Those not channelling their inner Caleb will then need to decide how to get away to avoid a sprint finish, and the other question will be how far up towards the hill will race director Ben Davis put the finish line. As a safety reminder, never try to look back when you are overlapping wheels. It’s best to do it from last place by dropping back a length, taking one hand off the bars and have a good look behind. That will determine if it’s worth pushing on or having a slight rest before accelerating to get on the passing group. Of course, don’t try to push into the middle of them passing group but try to get up to speed riding parallel with them then slot in behind once the last rider has passed.

Rob Langridge


Saturday, 10th August: Breadalbane Handicap – Memorial

Where: Drive to Gunning, then Cullerin Road to Breadalbane. Or, Federal Highway to Collector then Breadalbane Road to Breadalbane. Or, Federal Highway – Hume Highway – Cullerin Road. Park at community hall.
When: 1:30 pm.
Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number
Race Description: Breadalbane – west to U turn before Hume Highway, U turn at hill before Gunning – Breadalbane

Race Director: Ben Davis Contact: Email: bdavis@internode.on.net    Ph  0416014629

Marshals: Howard Moffat, Jeremy Gillman-Wells, Darren Blackhurst, Owain Tilley, Tony Sheehan

From the Race Committee

Upcoming Marshal Roster

Thank you to those who have already volunteered to help. Nominees, in blue have been selected based on results from the previous race season and the period since they last helped at a race. Nominees are requested to advise their availability/unavailability to the race committee (race.committee@actvets.cc) as soon as possible.

Summer series crit races are held at Stromlo Forest Park on Tuesday evenings and road races are held on Sunday mornings.

Date Event Director Marshals
17-Aug Old Federal Highway Ian Morton
4 (2 drivers, finish chute & 1 turn marshals) Peter Horch, Ross Scutts, Andrew Yates, Simon Johnston
24-Aug Sutton Driver Training Centre Roger Northcote
1 (finish chute) Mike Hayes
31-Aug Uriarra Shane Warburton
5 (finish chute & 4 ETCs) John Paul De Sousa*, David Jukes*, Robert Brunato*, Conan Liu*, Michael Payne
07-Sep Stromlo FP west – Uriarra Andrew Remely
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Andy Matz*, Bob Miller*, Ed (Keith) Joliffe*, Gerard Tiffen
14-Sep Stromlo FP Stewart Roesler
1 (finish chute) Jeremy Ross
21-Sep Breadalbane Rainer Wilton 4 (2 drivers, [short turn & finish chute] & far turn marshal) Lewis Cressy, Rowan McMurray, Terry Merrigan, Rowan McMurray, Simon Porombka
28-Sep Dog Trap Road Rico Fitch
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Adam Potts, David Dickson, Warwick Wilson, David Johnson, Stjepan Hirsler
08-Oct Crit Mark Harris
Paul Delmenico
15-Oct Crit Michael Reppion
Travis Hicks
20-Oct Corin Alain Arbaut
1 (finish chute) david wilson
22-Oct Crit Christophe Barberet
Michelle Hodgetts
29-Oct Crit Daniel Grillo
David Gillies

* denotes ETC required for ACT races.

Ian McVay
Race Committee


Lookout Hill Time Trial – 3rd August

A foggy morning gave way to near perfect conditions for the 22 participants of Saturday’s age standard time trial at Lookout Hill. The sun managed to burn off the fog before the first rider rolled away, and the wind kept low until the completion of the event (or at least that’s how it felt at the start/finish area).

A number of riders were decked out in gear that wouldn’t have been out of place in the TdF, and riding steeds that Rohan Dennis himself may have preferred to his Merida. Others adopted the “run what ya brung” ethos and stuck with their trusty road bike, with many putting in some impressive performances, in particular Steve Crispin and Gerard Tiffen (men’s 2nd and 4th respectively), both beating their age standard times by over 2 minutes.

In both men’s and women’s categories the 1st place getters also had the fastest times: Linda Stals over Kathryn Passalls and Rosemary Robinson, and Brendan Byatt over Steve Crispin and Owain Tilley, with only 1 second (by age standard) separating 2nd and 3rd in men’s. It was also impressive to see so many riders beating their age standard time, four of whom were riding roadies (Graham, this might have to be looked at).

Well done to all participants, and thank you to the marshals on the day – Steve Simms, Robert Brunato and Ross Robinson, and of course Graham Hendrie. Thanks also to Ian McVay for assistance in the lead up to, and set up of the event.


Pete Marshall