Hello Vets,

In the Bleat this week;

  • SportsMed Course
  • From the Desk of the Handicapper
  • Call for ATC’s for last 2 road races in 2017
  • Racing this Week
  • Race Reports

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton

SportsMed Course

There is a Sports Med training course on 18th & 19th November, 8:30am-5:00pm, $285. Here’s the link: https://sma.jobreadyrto.com.au/terminal/online_book_course/12238.

The club will pay the fee, in return for which qualified members will be expected to be available in a non-racing capacity on the rare occasion that Sports Med can’t provide a trainer.

Ian McVay

From the desk of the handicapper

Results for the Masters’ Road Championships can be found here http://liveresults.cycling.org.au/2017/NMRC/

It was mixed fortunes for the Vets who gathered on the Gold Coast over the weekend. Lyn Vasudeva and Belinda Chamberlain won medals. Owain Tilley and Brendan Byatt had good results in the TT. Bruce Goodspeed finished strongly in both the crit and RR, but spare a thought for Mark Taylor who was up against former pro world champion Danny Clarke. In the hot and windy RR, Clarke soloed to victory in a time faster than the age group 10 years younger than him! See Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/ACTVets/ for details how the champs ended for Roger Northcote and me. Bruce’s last recollection of me in the crit was ‘I saw you out of the corner of my eye sliding on your back heading for a pole.‘. Wishing Roger a speedy recovery.

This week’s Promotions;
– Karl Heys B to A
– Lewis Cressy B to A
– James Curran C to B
– Allan Bontjer D to C
– Mark Fairweather D to C

Rob Langridge

Call for ATC’s for last 2 road races in 2017

Uriarra 12/11

3 x ATC’s required

Mt MacDonald TT- 3rd December

2 x ATC’s required.

A lot of the ATC’s who re-certified in the last few months will be aware of the mentor sign-off to be completed before you can renew your licence. We will have a mentor available at both of these road races, so it is a great opportunity to complete the renewal process for your ATC licence. And all ATC’s are now eligible for a $50 payment for volunteering at each race. If you are available, please let me know bdavis@internode.on.net.

Ben Davis


Tuesday, 31st October: Stromlo Criterium

Note: The new Race Fee of $10 per event is in effect.

Where: Stromlo Forest Park
Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.
Race Description:
B/D 5:50 B 35m+2, D 30m+2
E/F/G 6:25 22 min + 2 laps
A/C 6:55 A 35m+2, C 30m+2

Race Director:  Paul Connor
Contact: Email: paulconnor996@gmail.com    Ph  0410411902

Marshal:  Christophe Barberet

Upcoming Marshall Roster

The nominated marshals for upcoming events are;
Date: Event – Marshals
7-11-2017: Stromlo FP – Heath Chester
12-11-2017: Uriarra – Sue Duckett, John Hermes
14-11-2017: Stromlo FP – Andrew McRae
19-11-2017: Old Fededral Highway – Don De Smet, Sean Fleming, Radi Kovacevic, Dale Dummett, Robert Mackey
21-11-2017: Stromlo FP – Brendan Lakey
26-11-2017: Dairy Road – Rico Fitch
28-11-2017: Stromlo FP – Peter Kitchen
3-12-2017: Cotter/Mt MacDonald – Michael Fawke
5-12-2017: Stromlo FP – Terence Merrigan
10-12-2017: Dairy Road – David Dickson
12-12-2017: Stromlo FP – Duane Toohey
17-12-2017: Dairy Road – Matthew Haddock
19-12-2017: Stromlo FP – Ben Davis

Wednesday, 1st November: Track Racing

The Program for Wednesday is as follows:
5.30pm – 6.00pm: Warm-up and free practice;
6.00pm – 6.20pm: 8-lap graded scratch race;
6.20pm – 6.40pm: 4-Lap Handicap Race;
6.40pm – 7.00pm: 6-Lap Win & Out;
7.00pm – 7.20pm: Italian Pursuit.


Narrabundah Track Racing – 25th October

The weather did not look promising for the third Track Racing session for the 2017-18 season. There was a heavy overcast and a stiff head wind directed into the back straight. Possibly for that reason, the attendance was slightly down, with 16 riders equally split between A and B grades. Despite the overcast, the rain held off until after the session. The wind moderated and conditions for racing were quite good.

The 8-lap A grade scratch race proceeded with the bunch circulating at pace for 4 laps before Michael Langdon attacked. Michael gained a small gap. However, John Paul De Sousa, Paul Kennedy, Jim Davey and Ed Garnett chased hard and soon had Michael’s wheel. As the laps ticked off, the lead bunch was joined by Alec Millett. This bunch circulated rapidly for a few further laps. With the bunch barrelling into the bell lap, Michael Langdon attacked again. Unfortunately, he soon had Alec Millett and Paul Kennedy in tow and looking dangerous. Michael managed to hold off Paul Kennedy. However, Alec Millett rounded Michael in the final sprint for a close win.

The B Grade scratch race started easy. The pace quickened by lap 3 and stayed solid over the remaining laps. The bunch remained consolidated with a single rider dropped around lap 5. As the bell lap started, Tony Beasley attacked with Hamish Anderson, Steve Hirsler and Ross Scutts taking up the challenge. Hamish Anderson was too strong in the final sprint, rounding Tony Beasley for the win. Tony managed to just hold out a fast finishing Steve Hirsler.

The evening’s second event was a 20-lap points race. This is a very tough event with several intermediate sprints and a final sprint for accumulating points. To make things interesting, lapped risers were allowed to participate in the following sprints provided they dropped on to the leaders early enough. In A grade, Alec Millett, Ed Garnett, Michael Langdon, Paul Kennedy and John Paul De Sousa competed for the first sprint with the result in that order. After the first sprint the bunch fractured. The second sprint was taken by Michael Langdon from John Paul De Sousa and Kerry Knowler / Lindy Hou piloting a tandem. Ed Garnett was lapped but managed to regain the bunch for the final two sprints. The pace stayed solid with Michael Langdon, Ed Garnett and the tandem pairing finishing the penultimate and final sprints in that order. Overall, the race provided a dominant performance by Michael Langdon, clever tactics by Ed Garnett and pure guts by the tandem pilots (Kerry Knowler / Lindy Hou) to stay in contention for the whole race.

The B grade points race was dominated by Hamish Anderson Tony Beasley and Steve Hirsler who finished all the intermediate sprints in that order. Ross Scutts showed good tactics to launch an early attack and upset for a third placing in the final sprint. However, Hamish and Tony again had the first two places in that order. Hamish Anderson looked strong throughout the event. Congratulations also to Tony Beasley for keeping Hamish honest with a never say die performance.

The track session closed with the usual all-in, Italian pursuit. With 7 riders on each team, this was going to be an enjoyable, competitive and tough event, especially for the limit riders. Team 1 made a good start with Graeme O’Neill and Steve Hirsler leading out. From this point, both teams put in faultless changes. However, Team 1 gained an increasing lead throughout the race. By the time Team 2 was down to their final riders, the situation was near hopeless. Michael Langdon, John Paul De Sousa and Ed Garnett closed out a solid win for Team 1.

Major place getters were as follows:
8-Lap Scratch: (A Grade): Alec Millett, Michael Langdon, Paul Kennedy (B Grade) Hamish Anderson, Tony Beasley, Steve Hirsler.
20 Lap Points Race: (A Grade): Michael Langdon (23), Ed Garnett (16), Kerry Knowler / Lindy Hou (12) (B Grade) Hamish Anderson (20), Tony Beasley (16), Steve Hirsler (8).
Combined Italian Pursuit: Winner Team 1 (Steve Hirsler, Graeme O’Neill, John Paul De Sousa, Hamish Anderson, Ed Garnett, Ross Scutts, Michael Langdon).

Season Point Score Update:
Hamish Anderson (54), Paul Kennedy (40), John Paul DeSousa (39), Tony Beasley (38), Michael Langdon (37), Phil Anderson (36), Phil Coulton (35), Ross Scutts (34), Alec Millett (34).

Graeme O’Neill