Hello Vets,

In this week’s Bleat;

  • Indoor Training
  • Final Event Traffic Controller course for 2018
  • Racing this Week
  • Race Report

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton

Indoor Training

This is the last week of VO2 efforts so get along!

Bruce Griffin

Final Event Traffic Controller course for 2018

Please enrol for the next Event Traffic Controller course on 8 September!

We currently only have about 25 ETCs from a club of over 300 members. Members need to share the burden of helping to run races. Having enough traffic controllers available in the club is critical to our ability to run races in the ACT and it is likely we will need to have ETCs for NSW races in the future. ETCs are eligible for reimbursement of $100 for marshalling at ACT road races.

Course details are available on Cycling ACT’s web site http://www.act.cycling.org.au/Road/News/2018-cycling-event-traffic-controllers-course-dates-confirmed. Members previously accredited as ATCs will need to do the updated training course to get ETC accreditation. Please register for a place on the course ASAP as numbers are limited.

Ian McVay
Race Committee


Saturday, 18th August: Old Federal Highway Graded Scratch

Where: Turn left off new Federal Hwy (dual carriageway) after Bywong Rd. The intersection is signposted to Gundaroo and approx 9 km after Sutton Rd overpass. Park in gravel pit on corner of next intersection about 100 m in from highway.
When: 1:30 pm.
Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.
Race Description:
All grades 3 laps .

Race Director: Ben Davis Contact: Email: bdavis@internode.on.net    Ph  0416014629

Marshals: Michael Hanbury, Simon Wells, Matt Hinchcliffe, Steven Simms, Michael Brice.

Upcoming Marshal Roster

Thank you to those who volunteered to help (noted below in black) at the races to September. The nominees (in blue) have been selected based on results from the previous summer race season and the period since they last helped at a race. Please advise your availability or unavailability to the race committee (race.committee@actvets.cc) as soon as possible.

We still need at few of race directors for Summer series races to the end of the year. Crit races are at Stromlo Forest Park on Tuesdays and road races are on Sunday mornings.

Date Event Director Marshals
1st September Uriarra Shane Warburton
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Ed Joliffe*, Terry Moore*, Robert Brunato* (non-member), Alison Hale
8th September Stromlo Forest Park – Iron Mike Ian Morton
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Elizabeth Lowe*, Rob Morris*, Richard Gorrell*, Andrew Murrell
15th September Stromlo Forest Park – Criterium Track Alain Arbaut
1 (finish chute) Jason McAvoy
22th September Breadalbane Mini Tour Simon Junakovic
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Doug Lean, David Wilson, Rowan McMurray, Mike Hayes, Chris Daly
Summer Series
9th October Crit Richard Hedley Michael Golding
16th October Crit Ben Robey
Bruce Goodspeed
21st October Corin Dam Rd Rico Fitch
1 (finish chute)
Michael David Brice
23rd October Crit Peta Brill
John Ignatius
30th October Crit Duane Toohey Christophe Barberet
4th November Uriarra John Thorn


4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Edward Joliffe*, Seymour Savell-boss*, David Jukes*, Lewis Cressy
6th November Crit Damian Copeland


Simon Wells
11th November Sutton Driver Training Centre Warwick Wilson
1 (finish chute), Ian Preston
13th November Crit Simon Porombka
David Witteveen
18th November Old Federal Highway vacant 5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) David Witham, Tim Brown, John Stokman, Stuart Roesler, Michael Brice
20st November Crit vacant Christophe Barberet
25th November Uriarra TT Andy Matz
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Edward Joliffe*, Kim Malcolm *, Howard Moffat*, Peter Jovanovic
27th November Crit vacant John Wilson
2nd December Old Federal Highway Kim Malcolm
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Jonathan Chowns, Graham Tanton, Craig Tozer, Des Brown, vacant
4th December Crit Patrick McNamara
Ian Lake
9th December Dairy Flat Nick Boylan
1 (finish chute) Nick will source
11th December Crit vacant Anthony Evans
16th December Cotter Hill Climb Nick Boylan
2 (finish chute & 1 ETCs) Sue Powell*, Conan Liu
18th December Crit vacant David Medlock

* denotes ETC required for ACT races.

Ian McVay
Race Committee


Dog Trap Rd Handicap – 11th August

A few words from the Handicapper

Around 30 club diehards endured a windy but warm handicap out at Dog Trap Road on Saturday. My handicapping was only a minute off having riders from A to E grades all finishing at once. For safety reasons, it was probably good that such a scenario didn’t eventuate as the race was finishing downhill. Allan Bontjer has been battling various ailments all season but despite a recent setback was able to sit behind the over enthusiastic D graders who jumped too early to roll them on the line. Well done Allan!


And if you like windy handicaps, then Cootamundra is the place to be on the weekend of the 25/26th. The Saturday race is 116km followed by 57km on the Sunday. The hills are slightly less than Dog Trap except for the finish. I’ll only be riding the Sunday race because of family social events. Entries close this Wednesday. Email me at rlangridge88@gmail.com if you’d like more info. See link: https://eventdesq.sportstg.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=main&EventDesqID=29381&OrgID=20999.

Rob Langridge

The Winners


Ben Healy and Linday Hou (Tandem, 3rd), Allan Bontjer (1st), Simon Milnes (2nd)