Hello Vets,

In the Bleat this week;

  • From the Desk of the Handicapper
  • Missing Vest
  • Winter Pointscore progress scores
  • Racing this Week
  • Race Report
  • From the Race Committee

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Jan Koehler (standing in for Ian Morton)

From the Desk of the Handicapper:


Wayne Donchi                   D to C

Seymour Savell-Boss      B to A

Matt Hinchcliffe                B to A

Paul Hollings                       B to A

Arron Sedgmen                 B to A

Robert Langridge              B to A

Roger Northcote              B to A

Owain Tilley                        C to B

These mass promotions usually backfire as most of the riders vanish from the scene for the next six months, but I’ll try it again in the hope that it will also encourage more current A graders, perhaps suffering PTSD from their last flogging at the hands of the Crispin-Tiffen machine, to come out and at least try to inflict some pain on the newcomers. It’s always better to be the hammer than the nail.

The Champs

Please come out to support the winter championships this weekend at the Uriarra homestead. This course is relatively flat so it won’t be determined by the best climber riding everyone else of his/her wheel. It will be stop/start, cat-and-mouse and sometimes fast-and-furious riding that will determine the winner. Come out and enjoy a different style of racing.

Cootamundra Classic

I was proud to be part of the winning group at this year’s 116km Cootamundra Classic. Unfortunately, my part ended with still 18km remaining as the legs totally shut down after pedalling faster than they’ve ever been for such a distance. Simone Grounds made history by being the first ever female winner, while Darrel Wheeler, who won the race in 1963 and is a former age group world champion, was in the top ten.

Rob Langridge


Missing Vest:

Someone racing in either C or D grade at Sutton Driver Training Centre accidently picked up my white vest thinking it was theirs.  I have your vest.  Can you please contact me to make a swap.  Thanks

Ian McVay   imcvay@grapevine.com.au   0406378509


With only 5 races remaining on the winter road program it would seem that Steve Crispin has an unassailable lead for first place while the remaining men’s placings and the women’s pointscore are more evenly contested. The top five leaders in the men’s and women’s pointscore to 24th August are:


Steve Crispin              128

Gerard Tiffen              106

Ross Robinson            96

Seymour Savell-Boss 75

Ian McVay                  73


Linda Stals                  56

Kirsti McVay              52

Elizabeth Lowe           50

Rosemary Robinson   46

Jan Koehler                 33


Saturday 31st Aug 2019: Uriarra Homestead

Where: Assemble at Uriarra Rd / Brindabella Rd, T-Junction. From North Canberra it’s slightly faster via Coppins crossing & right onto Uriarra Road. From Sth Canberra follow Cotter Road down to bridge crossing, turn right onto Brindabella Road.
When: 1:30 pm.
Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number

Race Description:

Club Championship course
M1 to M5 start on Brinbabella Road, ride to Mt McDonald turnaround and return, left at Homestead to short turn, down to top of crossing (TOC) and return to Homestead for 1 lap. Repeat for a 2nd lap. Distance 48km.
M6 to M9 and all Women start at Homestead, short turn, TOC, Mt McDonald, short turn, TOC finish. Distance 39km.

Race Director: Shane Warburton: robertothegreat975@gmail.com  ph: 0410620586

Marshals: Conan Liu, John Paul De Sousa, David Jukes, Robert Brunato, Michael Payne


Sutton Driver Training Centre, Graded Scratch – 24th August

Race Director’s Report

No report this week

From the Race Committee

Upcoming Marshal Roster

Thank you to those who have already volunteered to help. Nominees, in blue have been selected based on results from the previous race season and the period since they last helped at a race. Nominees are requested to advise their availability/unavailability to the race committee (race.committee@actvets.cc) as soon as possible.

Summer series crit races are held at Stromlo Forest Park on Tuesday evenings and road races are held on Sunday mornings.

Date Event Director Marshals
07-Sep Stromlo FP west – Uriarra Andrew Remely
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Andy Matz*, Bob Miller*, Ed (Keith) Joliffe*, Gerard Tiffen
14-Sep Stromlo FP Matt Hinchcliffe
1 (finish chute) Jeremy Ross
21-Sep Breadalbane Rainer Wilton 4 (2 drivers, [short turn & finish chute] & far turn marshal) Lewis Cressy, Rowan McMurray, Terry Merrigan, Alex Sommariva
28-Sep Dog Trap Road Rico Fitch
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Adam Potts, David Dickson, Warwick Wilson, David Johnson, Stjepan Hirsler
08-Oct Crit Mark Harris
Paul Delmenico
15-Oct Crit Michael Reppion
Travis Hicks
20-Oct Corin Alain Arbaut
1 (finish chute) david wilson
22-Oct Crit Christophe Barberet
Michelle Hodgetts
29-Oct Crit Daniel Grillo
David Gillies
03-Nov Uriarra Brian Peak
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Seymour Savell-Boss*, Neil Burton*, Lindsay Graham* Christopher Hodgson
05-Nov Crit Susan Frost
Felipe Lopes Reis
10-Nov Sutton Driver Training Centre Bryan Holloway
1 (finish chute) vacant
12-Nov Crit Kevin Newhouse
Liam O’Dea
17-Nov Old Federal Highway Ian Preston
4 (2 drivers, finish chute & 1 turn marshals) Peter Kitchen, Ben McDuff, Gai Monahan Brandie O’Connor
19-Nov Crit Christophe Barberet
Belinda Chamberlain
24-Nov Uriarra vacant 4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Terry Moore*, Robert Brunato*,*, John Stokman vacant*
26-Nov Crit Wayne Benham
Sam Whitsed
01-Dec Old Federal Highway John Thorn
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Mark K Taylor, Tim Minehan, Darren Garnon, Polly Templeton, James Curran
03-Dec Crit Tony Rowley
David McCook
08-Dec Dairy Road Nick Boylan
1 (finish chute), Tim Brown
10-Dec Crit Steve Dean
Andrew Murrell
15-Dec Majura Bradley Peppinck
1 (finish chute) Des Brown
17-Dec Crit Jonathan Chowns
Michael Golding

* denotes ETC required for ACT races.


Ian McVay
Race Committee