Hello Vets,

In the Bleat this week;

  • From the Desk of the Handicapper
  • Racing this Week
  • Race Report
  • From the Race Committee

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Kirsti McVay (standing in for Ian Morton)

From the Desk of the Handicapper:

Club Championships

Perfect weather greeted the usual suspects at Saturday’s road championships. Congratulations to the winners and well done to those who turned up knowing that a win was not on the cards but still put in solid performances. Conditions actually exceeded perfect as the magpie on the road to the crossing was even absent or was it just too early this year?

Iron Mike

Handicap destroyer Steve Crispin won’t be riding (see below) so everyone’s chances of winning have just risen dramatically. Handicaps are all about teamwork and there’s no point riding from your bunch on the hills if they catch you up on the down hills.

NSW TT Championships

The NSW all-ages TT championships will be held on the Gunning course this Saturday. Michael Carr, Steve Crispin, Brendan Byatt, James Jordan, Owain Tilley and Steve Blackburn will to donning their drag-reducing garb and mounting their funny bikes to bring back some bling for the ACT. Sunday’s races includes graded scratch races for masters. Marc Vroomans, Steve Crispin, Mark Harris, Paul Hollings, Steve Blackburn and I have entered.

Rob Langridge



Saturday 7th Sep 2019: Iron Mike Handicap

Where: Drive aprox 2.5km north west on Uriarra Rd from the intersection with Opperman Ave, Wright (i.e. the main entry to SFP)
When: 1:30 pm.
Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number

Race Description:

Start Stromlo western car park, out through Uriarra Crossing, all the way to end of bitumen and return to finish line opposite the start.

Race Director: Andrew Remely (andrew.remely@gmail.com), 0429428112

Marshals: Andrew Matz, Robert Miller, Edward Joliffe, Gerard Tiffen


Club Championships, Uriarra Homestead – 31st August

Race Director’s Report

No report this week. Congratulations to all the podium winners.

Steve Crispin shared some photos from the race on the weekend.

Club Champs 2019

From the Race Committee

Upcoming Marshal Roster

Thank you to those who have already volunteered to help. Nominees, in blue have been selected based on results from the previous race season and the period since they last helped at a race. Nominees are requested to advise their availability/unavailability to the race committee (race.committee@actvets.cc) as soon as possible.

Summer series crit races are held at Stromlo Forest Park on Tuesday evenings and road races are held on Sunday mornings.

Date Event Director Marshals
14-Sep Stromlo FP Matt Hinchcliffe
1 (finish chute) Jeremy Ross
21-Sep Breadalbane Rainer Wilton 4 (2 drivers, [short turn & finish chute] & far turn marshal) Lewis Cressy, Rowan McMurray, Terry Merrigan, Alex Sommariva
28-Sep Dog Trap Road Rico Fitch
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) David Dickson, Warwick Wilson, David Johnson, Stjepan Hirsler, vacant
08-Oct Crit Mark Harris
Paul Delmenico
15-Oct Crit Michael Reppion
Travis Hicks
20-Oct Corin Alain Arbaut
1 (finish chute) david wilson
22-Oct Crit Christophe Barberet
Michelle Hodgetts
29-Oct Crit Daniel Grillo
David Gillies
03-Nov Uriarra Brian Peak
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Seymour Savell-Boss*, Neil Burton*, Lindsay Graham* Christopher Hodgson
05-Nov Crit Susan Frost
Felipe Lopes Reis
10-Nov Sutton Driver Training Centre Bryan Holloway
1 (finish chute) Stuart Roesler
12-Nov Crit Kevin Newhouse
Liam O’Dea
17-Nov Old Federal Highway Ian Preston
4 (2 drivers, finish chute & 1 turn marshals) Peter Kitchen, Ben McDuff, Gai Monahan Brandie O’Connor
19-Nov Crit Christophe Barberet
Belinda Chamberlain
24-Nov Uriarra vacant 4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Terry Moore*, Robert Brunato*,*, John Stokman vacant*
26-Nov Crit Wayne Benham
Sam Whitsed
01-Dec Old Federal Highway John Thorn
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Mark K Taylor, Tim Minehan, Darren Garnon, Polly Templeton, James Curran
03-Dec Crit Tony Rowley
David McCook
08-Dec Dairy Road Nick Boylan
1 (finish chute), Tim Brown
10-Dec Crit Steve Dean
Andrew Murrell
15-Dec Majura Bradley Peppinck
1 (finish chute) Des Brown
17-Dec Crit Jonathan Chowns
Michael Golding

* denotes ETC required for ACT races.

Ian McVay
Race Committee