Hello Vets,

In the Bleat this week;

  • Winter Pointscore – FINAL RESULTS

  • From the Desk of the Handicapper 

  • Narrabundah Track Practice Session

  • Racing this Week 

  • Race Reports

  • From the Race Committee

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Russell Marston (standing in for Ian Morton)

Winter Pointscore

The final results for the Winter Pointscore are in, as shown below.  Gerard Tiffen didn’t race on Saturday so Steve Crispin helped himself to the maximum points on offer, 25 points, by winning the handicap (20 pts) and posting the fastest time (5pts), to finish clear winner in the men’s competition.  Gerard finished second overall with Ross Robinson unchallenged for third place. In the Women’s Pointscore Kirsti McVay’s consistently good season has paid off with her taking first place, with Linda Stals and Elizabeth Lowe placing second and third respectively.  Presentation of the Winter Pointscore medals will take place at the end-of-year Christmas Wheel Race gathering at Stromlo Forest Park.

Mens Pointscore

Steve Crispin               157

Gerard Tiffen              132

Ross Robinson           98

Womens Pointscore

Kirsti McVay              58

Linda Stals                  56

Elizabeth Lowe            50

Summer Daylight Saving Time (DST) commenceson 6th October which heralds the start of the criterium and track seasons. Criterium racing at Stromlo Forest Park commences on Tuesday 8th October and track racing at the Narrabundah Track (Velodrome) on Wednesday 9th October (See below).

From the Desk of the Handicapper

Michael Fawke C to B

Rob Langridge



Daylight saving will soon be with us, and that means VETS TRACK RACING!!!!!

The track racing season will kick off with a Practice Session starting at 6.00pm on Wednesday 9 October.  There will be no racing.  All interested riders are invited – particularly new riders and track novices. It is a great opportunity to give track a try!

Please note that Narrabundah Track is a high-banked, oval track suitable only for conventional fixed gear track bikes with a high bottom bracket. We are unable to accommodate road bikes on this track.


+ Narrabundah track is located off Goyder Street in Narrabundah;

+ We welcome riders to try a high-banked track for the first time;

+ New riders can get practical advice on gearing, bunch riding & track etiquette;

+ Interested riders can try out a track bike (bring your own pedals and shoes);

+ Experienced riders can tune up the machinery & motor;

+ All riders can express their preference for events & races;

+ The practice session will be around 1hr 30 mins starting at 6.00pm;

+ There is no formal structure to the practice. We can assist with introductory training, if requested;

+ You can do your own thing, if you prefer.

A few basics on track etiquette for the practice session:

+ Use the designated track positions for cruising, tempo or fast pacing;

(The faster you ride the higher you should be positioned on track.  Overtake outside other riders);

+ Hold your line – don’t make changes of speed or position unless you are clear of other riders;

+ Be very careful if you are crossing or moving on / off the track;

(It is your responsibility not to impede other riders in this situation);

+ Start from the fence and be aware of riders approaching;

+ It is best to wear clear or light tinted goggles;

(the shaded portions of track have very low visibility with regular sunnies);

+ All riders will need to be cautious, as there will be novice riders at the practice session.

Regular track racing will start on Wednesday 16 October.

Last year was a great season with a dedicated track group and 30 riders participating over the season.  However, why should they have all the fun.  If you have thought about it, come and give it a try.  We would like at least ten more regulars.

Graeme O’Neill


No race scheduled this weekend 5th / 6th October


Dog Trap Rd Murrumbateman, Handicap – 28th September

19 degrees welcomed 35 riders at Dog Trap Rd obviously disappointed that Collingwood had missed the grand final. The wind was mild with a threat of doing some mischief for the upcoming 45km race. Kangaroos and magpies added spice.

The number of riders in each grade were split as follows:

E x 8

D x 3

C x 10

B x 3

A2 x 7

A1 x 4

There was the inevitable whinging before the race as to why some peeps were in a lower grade than perhaps they should be and the consensus that Steve Crispin would win.

Steve did approach me before the race asking who Michael Payne was. So I replied building Payney up to be nothing short of an ex Olympian champion even though he was 11 years senior to Steve.

So with the preliminary pre race posturing, whinging and lies over, E Grade had a 23 minute jump on A1.

A1 caught A2 within the first 10 minutes and the depleted B Grade shortly after.  E Grade had splintered and were picked off progressively

C and D Grade were reeled in on the big hill into the second lap and after that it was all over red rover.

Steve bided his time in the pack and attacked with less than 10 k to go for a 2 min 37 sec win over second place Marc Vroomans (A2) who managed to outride Nathan de Tourettes A(1).

Big thanks to the drivers – Warwick Wilson and David Dickson; the road marshals – Dave Johnson and Steve Hirsler; the finish marshals – John Stokman, Owain Tilley and Graham Hendry. Also a hooray for Simon the jambuck and Ian McVay for the unenviable job of trying to herd cats.

Rico Fitch


Upcoming Marshal Roster

Thank you to those who have already volunteered to help. Nominees, in blue have been selected based on results from the previous race season and the period since they last helped at a race. Nominees are requested to advise their availability/unavailability to the race committee (race.committee@actvets.cc) as soon as possible.

Summer series crit races are held at Stromlo Forest Park on Tuesday evenings and road races are held on Sunday mornings.

Date Event Director Marshals
08-Oct Crit Mark Harris
Paul Delmenico
15-Oct Crit Michael Reppion
Travis Hicks
20-Oct Corin Alain Arbaut
1 (finish chute) david wilson
22-Oct Crit Christophe Barberet
Michelle Hodgetts
29-Oct Crit Daniel Grillo
David Gillies
03-Nov Uriarra Brian Peak
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Seymour Savell-Boss*, Neil Burton*, Lindsay Graham* Christopher Hodgson
05-Nov Crit Susan Frost
Felipe Lopes Reis
10-Nov Sutton Driver Training Centre Bryan Holloway
1 (finish chute) Stuart Roesler
12-Nov Crit Kevin Newhouse
Liam O’Dea
17-Nov Old Federal Highway Ian Preston
4 (2 drivers, finish chute & 1 turn marshals) Peter Kitchen, Ben McDuff, Gai Monahan Brandie O’Connor
19-Nov Crit Christophe Barberet
Belinda Chamberlain
24-Nov Uriarra Lewis Cressy
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Terry Moore*, Robert Brunato*, Mick Donaldson*, Jeremy Ross
26-Nov Crit Wayne Benham
Sam Whitsed
01-Dec Old Federal Highway John Thorn
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Mark K Taylor, Tim Minehan, Darren Garnon, Polly Templeton, James Curran
03-Dec Crit Tony Rowley
David McCook
08-Dec Dairy Road Nick Boylan
1 (finish chute), Tim Brown
10-Dec Crit Steve Dean
Andrew Murrell
15-Dec Majura Bradley Peppinck
1 (finish chute) Des Brown
17-Dec Crit Jonathan Chowns
Michael Golding

* denotes ETC required for ACT races.

Ian McVay
Race Committee