Hello Vets,

In the Bleat this week;

•  From the Desk of the President

   Reduced Membership Fee for remainder of 2021

•  Racing this Week

•  Race Report

Ian Morton

From the Desk of the President

Cranky Bicycle Worx vouchers

Congratulations to Week 5’s voucher winner #667 Dale Kleeman.

A massive thank you to Stu Carling who has donated 10 bike service vouchers to the Vets Club for his workshop, located in Downer. For full details of Cranky Bicycle Works, see Stu’s facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Crankys-bicycle-worx-111899310938790/

Seymour Savell-Boss
ACT Vets Cycling Club President.


Reduced Membership Fee for remainder of 2021.

From 3 July 2021, a reduced membership rate is available for new and renewing members for the remainder of this year. Our fees have reduced from $125 to $105 in line with the AVCC membership fee reduction. This reduction will not impact on member benefits or insurance.

Please note that club membership is for a calendar year so membership will expire on 31 December 2021.

Kirsti McVay
ACT Vets Cycling Club Treasurer.



Saturday, 7th August – no scheduled race


Smiths Rd – Naas Rd – Secret Handicap – 24th July

Thirty four riders turned up on a pleasant Saturday winter afternoon at Lookout Hill for the annual M&H Age Standard Time Trial, with the M&H Trophy up for grabs. The M&H Trophy, is a perpetual trophy donated by Henry and Marilyn Beaverstock, with the trophies going to those who beat their age standard time by the greatest amount (Standard times are based on age-related tables and are related to actual age on the day of any event). As always, the Age Standard winner is not necessarily always the fastest time, so it would be interesting to see whether this year if the trophy would be won by the quickest rider.

With rain on and off throughout the morning, the weather turned for the better for once, and a mild and pleasant afternoon beckoned the riders. However, as is so often the case, about 30 minutes before start time, the wind picked up significantly and all the riders had to contend with a strong northerly wind.

Starting in age order (youngest to oldest), riders took of at 30 second intervals heading south from Lookout Hill, u-turning near Tharwa, riding north to just before the Point Hut turnoff before u-turning again to the top of Lookout Hill and then repeating for a second lap. With the strong northerly wind, it meant the leg from Tharwa to Point Hut was extremely tough, before a little bit of a helping hand on the climb up to the finish.

The effort by everyone was super impressive. With the hill to the finish, you could tell by breathing rates at the finish line that everyone had emptied the tank in this race of truth. However, there had to be winners on the day.

The winner of this years female M&H trophy with an age standard of +4:48.5 was Rosemary Robinson. It was a very tight event in this category with all participants very close on time. In second place with an age standard of +5:07.7 was Cat Riley, and in third was Jan Koehler with an age standard of +5:57.1.

ACT Veterans Cycling Club

The winner of this years male M&H trophy with a remarkable age standard of -04:06.9 was Anthony Willemsen. Anthony was kept honest by Gerard Tiffen in second place with an age standard of -03:56.9 and Steve Crispin in third with an age standard of -03:54.8. As you can see with these differences, it was a very close race.

ACT Veterans Cycling Club

In the female category, the fastest time of the day went to Cat Riley with a time of 41:26.7, narrowly ahead of Rosemary (41:43.5) and Alison Hale (43:31.4). There were literally seconds in it between Alison, Linda Stahls (43:36.3) and Jan Koehler (32:38.1).

In the male category, it was one of those rare occasions where the fastest rider of the day also won the Age Standard! A massive accomplishment by Anthony finishing in a time of 29:02.1. The fastest times followed the age standard for the top three with Gerard taking second narrowly behind in 21:12.1 and Steve a tiny bit further back in 29:20.2.

Given the conditions, a surprising number of riders beat their age standard time. In addition to Anthony, Gerard and Steve, big kudos go to Brendan Byatt, Al Raitt, Michael Fawke, Tristan Fuge, Christopher Short, David Dickson, Owain Tilley, Dale Kleeman, and Anthony Beasley.

Grade placings (in terms of age standard) were:-A grade: Anthony Williemsen, Gerard Tiffen, Steve Crispin -B grade: Michael Fawke, Tristan Fuge, Christopher Short -C grade: Owain Tilley, Dale Kleeman, Warwick Wilson -D grade: Anthony Beasley, Robert Langridge, Anthony Dick -E grade: Rosemary Robinson, Jan Koehler, Linda Stahls -F Grade: Cat Riley, Pat Rooke, Chis Copeland -G Grade: Bernard Crowe

For full results, please see the RMS (rms.actvets.cc).

A huge thanks goes out to all those who made the day possible, especially: Matt Hinchcliffe for driving the van and organising all the refreshments; Paul Welsh and Seymour Savell-Boss for controlling traffic and marshalling, Wayne Spratford for marshalling; Simon Whitehead for first aiding; and Ian McVay for all the organising, support and timing.

Thanks for everyone who turned up, was a great afternoon out!


Peter Merrick

ACT Veterans Cycling ClubMichael Fawke has posted photos on the ACT Vets
Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ACTVets