In this week’s Bleat;

•  Winter Season 2022

•  CRuMbS out and about

•  From the Committee

•  Racing this Week

•  Race Report

Ian Morton

Winter Season 2022

The Winter Race season for 2022 has wrapped up with last weekend’s event at Uriarra. The season placings are;


1stCat Riley60 pts
2ndAlison Hale52 pts
3rdLiz Lowe32 pts


1stJason Irwin103 pts
2ndIan Preston102 pts
3rdSteve Crispin95 pts

Congratulations to the winners and well done to all the competitors.

CRuMbS out and about

Crispy and Ben get gongs in the Gong!

The masters nationals were held in Wollongong last week as a sort of test event for the world championships currently taking place there.

The venue’s proximity to Canberra resulted in a larger than usual participation by club members in the nationals with the highlights for the club being a record haul of two gold medals. Steve Crispin took out first in the TT and second in the RR while Ben Morrison was second in the criterium and first in the RR. Another highlight was Owain Tilley finally getting on the podium with a third in the M8 TT. Well done to everyone who put themselves in the toughest possible age-based racing available.


M8 Owain Tilley 3rd
M6 Brendan Byatt 5th
M5 Steve Crispin 1st *** Australian champion ***
M3 Anthony Murphett 2nd
M3 Rainer Wilton 5th
M2 David Parker 16th

M8 Brian Peak 7th (CCC)
M8 Bruce McMillan 13th
M7 Michael Foulds 6th (VIK)
M7 Bruce Goodspeed (former member) 5th
M5 Steve Crispin 4th (CCC)
M5 Marc Vroomans 12th
M5 Paul Hollings 19th (VIK)
M3 Ben Morrison 2nd (CCC)
M3 Rainer Wilton 17th (CCC)
M1-2 Kris McCreath 24th (CCC)
W5+ Elizabeth Lowe 20th (VIK)
W5+ Alison Hale 22nd (VIK)
W1-4 Peta Brill 10th (VIK)

Road Race
WM4 Peta Brill (Vikings) 6th
M1 Kris McCreath 3rd
M3 Ben Morrisson 1st *** Australian Champion ***
M3 Brad Peppinck 8th
M3 Anthony Murfett 16th
M5 Steve Crispin 2nd
M5 Stephen Blackburn 7th
M5 Nathan Spillane 20th
M7 Michael Foulds (Vikings) 10th
M8 Brian Peak 7th
M8 Bruce McMillan 10th

From the Committee

Reduced Membership Fee for Remainder of 2022

A reduced membership fee of $80 is now available for new members and non-financial members wishing to rejoin the club between now and 31 December 2022. Register via the AVCC online membership portal at

From the Race Committee

There was in incident at Saturday’s race at Uriarra where a number of our riders were hit with Nerf Gun projectiles during the second lap climb up Blue Range heading south. The information we have to date is that they were fired from a White dual cab Hilux, older model, P plates with 4 occupants.

Any members who are able to provide any more information are asked to pass it on to the Race Committee ( as we are looking to file a complaint with the Police.


No scheduled event this weekend. The next race will be a Stromlo Criterium on Tuesday 4th October to kickoff the Summer Season.


Uriarra Homestead – 17th September

Racing this Saturday was in stark contrast to the previous Saturday. It was mostly sunny but there were many passing showers. The wind was a feature mainly at the Uriarra Crossing where it was a strong crosswind and caused one rider to discontinue. There were only 14 riders and Grades A and B kicked off first with just 3 riders. The 2 A graders, Jason Irwin and Paul Scherl soon pulled away from B grader Todd Sowter. This was the pattern to the end with an ever-widening gap back to Todd. In the end, it was a tight finish as Jason Irwin won by a wheel from Paul Scherl.

As there was only 1 D grader, C and D grades kicked off together with C grade forming a peloton of 7 riders which gradually separated into a tight bunch of 4 riders – Gareth Downey, David Dickson, Ian Preston and Ed Logue. Gareth Downey was triumphant at the line with David Dickson a close second, and Ian Preston third. David made a half-hearted protest as Gareth had lost his number during the race pointing out he was therefore not officially in the race. This protest was dismissed. The remainder of the C and D grades finished soon after.

There were only 3 riders in grades E and F, Allan Bontjer (E grade), Cat Riley and Elizabeth Lowe (both F grade) and they started as a bunch in a shortened race of 1.5 laps instead of 2 laps. Cat Riley pulled out after half a lap citing the treacherous crosswinds at the Uriarra Crossing turnaround. Allan and Elizabeth both finished together in a very friendly finish.

Big thanks to David Witham for driving the tail car and going back to Stromlo Forrest Park to retrieve the food box that had the firelighter in it that the newbie RD/Van driver left behind. This ensured a hot drink for all finishers. Also thank you to Howard Moffat, Frank O’Sullivan and Tony Weir for setting up the course and acting as marshals. Big thanks to Simon Whitehead for first aid and fortunately not having to be used.

See you all again on 4th October for criterium at SFP.

Chris Copeland