Hello Vets,

In this week’s Bleat;

  • Breadalbane Mini Tour
  • From the Race Committee
  • Indoor Training
  • Racing this Week

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton

Breadalbane Mini Tour

Following on the success of this year’s Gunning two-day race, we return to Breadalbane community hall on Saturday 22nd September for the mini tour. Sign on is by 9:45. The start time for the time trial is 10:00. The start time for the road race will be decided on the day, based on the number of riders.

The time trial will be out and back for a total of 20km. Riders must give way to traffic at the turn. The turn marshal cannot stop traffic. Full time trial kit is allowed.

The road race will be a 50km graded scratch.

Presentations and afternoon tea will be held at the hall following the race. Come and enjoy the last Saturday race for the year.

From the Race Committee

ETC Mentoring

Thanks to those members who attended the ETC training on Saturday. Please contact the race committee at race.committee@actvets.cc to arrange to be mentored at one of our upcoming races.

Race Committee membership

The race committee is looking for additional Club members who are interested in shaping and supporting the Club’s race program. If you have the time and enthusiasm please consider joining. The workload involves setting the race program, obtaining approvals, organising and supporting race directors, 1st aiders and marshals, and handicapping. Committee members will ideally have interests across track, crit and road racing and come from different age groups and race grades.

Please contact Ian McVay at imcvay@grapevine.com.au.

Ian McVay
Vice President

Indoor Training

Only 3 weeks left for indoor training at the Weston Neighbourhood Centre starting at 6:30pm. The last week will be Tuesday 25 September. Coach Aisbitt advises that we are going to have 3 weeks of “grunt”. So if you want an edge for your crit or track races come and get some grunt.

Bruce Griffin


Saturday, 15th September: Stromlo Forest Park Criterium – Scratch Race

Where:Stromlo Forest Park Criterium track.
When: 1:30 pm.
Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.
Race Description:
Time – Grade – Race Duration
1:30 – E/F/G – 28 min + 2 laps
2:05 – A/C – A 42m+2, C 38m+2
2:55 – B/D – B 42m+2, D 38m+2
Notes: Grades are as per your Criterium grade in RMS

Race Director: Alain Arbaut Contact: Email: arbaut@grapevine.net.au    Ph  0400493148

Marshal: Jason McAvoy.

Upcoming Marshal Roster

Thank you to those who volunteered to help (noted below in black) at the races to September. The nominees (in blue) have been selected based on results from the previous summer race season and the period since they last helped at a race. Please advise your availability or unavailability to the race committee (race.committee@actvets.cc) as soon as possible.

We still need at few of race directors for Summer series races to the end of the year. Crit races are at Stromlo Forest Park on Tuesdays and road races are on Sunday mornings.

Date Event Director Marshals
22th September Breadalbane Mini Tour Simon Junakovic
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Doug Lean, David Wilson, Rowan McMurray, Mike Hayes, Ross MacPherson
Summer Series
9th October Crit Richard Hedley Michael Golding
16th October Crit Ben Robey
Bruce Goodspeed
21st October Corin Dam Rd Rico Fitch
1 (finish chute)
Dale Dummett
23rd October Crit Peta Brill
John Ignatius
30th October Crit Duane Toohey Christophe Barberet
4th November Uriarra John Thorn


4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Edward Joliffe*, Seymour Savell-boss*, David Jukes*, Lewis Cressy
6th November Crit Damian Copeland


Simon Wells
11th November Sutton Driver Training Centre Warwick Wilson
1 (finish chute), Ian Preston
13th November Crit Simon Porombka
David Witteveen
18th November Old Federal Highway vacant 5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) David Witham, Tim Brown, John Stokman, Stuart Roesler, Michael Brice
20st November Crit Roger Northcote
Christophe Barberet
25th November Uriarra TT Andy Matz
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Edward Joliffe*, Kim Malcolm *, Howard Moffat*, Peter Jovanovic
27th November Crit Michael David Brice
John Wilson
2nd December Old Federal Highway Kim Malcolm
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Jonathan Chowns, Graham Tanton, Craig Tozer, Des Brown, vacant
4th December Crit Patrick McNamara
Ian Lake
9th December Dairy Flat Nick Boylan
1 (finish chute) Nick will source
11th December Crit vacant Anthony Evans
16th December Cotter Hill Climb Nick Boylan
2 (finish chute & 1 ETCs) Sue Powell*, Conan Liu
18th December Crit vacant David Medlock

* denotes ETC required for ACT races.

Ian McVay
Race Committee



Iron Mike – 8th September

We had 34 riders out for a return to the “traditional” Iron Mike Handicap format – Stromlo to the end of the Bitumen and back. Conditions were warm with light cloud cover and gentle winds.

I was receiving reports from the intermediate Marshals that Brandie O’Conner, who had set off first in F Grade, was holding her lead on the return leg. Ultimately she was overtaken but did well to hang on for 3rd place. Paul Hollings from C Grade took first place by a good margin with Greg Collis, in B Grade, taking second place.

There were no bunch sprints to trouble the time keeper as most of the riders had strung out over the hilly course.

Thanks to the Marshals who made the event possible, Richard Gorrell at the crossing, Sue Powell at Uriarra Homestead, Robert Morris at the end of the bitumen and Andrew Murrell at the finish line. Thanks also to Grahm Hendrie for bringing the van and doing the race entry and timing. Unfortunately due to some technical problems with the timing equipment we were not able to record the finish times.

Ian Morton

The Winners

Paul Hollings (1st), Brandie O’Connor (3rd)