Hello Vets,

In this week’s Bleat;

  • Race Numbers
  • From the Desk of the Handicapper
  • Additional Event Traffic Controller course for 2018
  • Racing this Week

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton

Race Numbers

Members are reminded to bring their race number to the crit races each week. If you have lost your number, please email membership@actvets.cc to obtain a replacement number.

From the Desk of the Handicapper (in Paris)

The crit season has arrived and judging be the results those who’d only dusted off their bikes on Sunday and had a crisis of confidence on Tuesday arvo did some self downgrading. That’s OK if you want to test your form but it’s depriving more deserving riders of glory if you end up winning or blow the race apart. Please show some self restraint when riding in a lower grade. Those intending not to self promote should email handicapper@actvets.cc to have their RMS grading updated.

– Matt Corby A to A
– Andrew Murrell B to A
– Bryan Holloway B to B
– Geoffrey Graham Visitor E to D

Rob Langridge

Additional Event Traffic Controller course for 2018

An additional course for Event Traffic Controllers has been scheduled for 24 November. Details are available on Blended Learning’s web site: http://www.blendedlearning.edu.au/home/courses/programs-courses/event-traffic-controller/.

Members previously accredited as ATCs will need to do the updated training course to get ETC accreditation. Having enough controllers available in the club is critical to our ability to run races in the ACT and it is likely we will need to have ETCs for NSW races in the future.

Please register for a place ASAP as numbers are limited. Register directly with Blended Learning via email info@blendedlearning.edu.au or phone 6230 4633 and indicate you are from our club.


Tuesday, 16th October: Stromlo Criterium

Where: Stromlo Forest Park
Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.
Race Description:
B/D @5:50 B 25m+2, D 22m+2
E/F/G @6:20 E/F/G 20 m + 2 laps
A/C @6:45 A 25m+2, C 22m+2
Sunset @ 7:19

Race Director:  Ben Robey Contact: Email: benrobey74@gmail.com    Ph  0406788790

Marshals: Bruce Goodspeed

Wednesday, 17th October: Track Racing

The Program for Wednesday is as follows;
5.30pm – 6.00pm: Warm-up and free practice;
6.00pm – 6.20pm: 8-lap graded scratch race;
6.20pm – 7.00pm: 2 Lap Handicap;
7.00pm – 7.10pm: Italian Pursuit.

Sunday, 21th October: Corin Time Trial

Note: The Vets race is on Sunday. CCC also have a race on the same course on Saturday.

Where: Intersection of Tidbinbilla Rd and the Corin Dam Rd.
When: 9:00 am.
Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.
Race Description:
Climb to Square Rock car park approx 12km

Race Director: Rico Fitch Contact: Email: rico.fitch@gmail.com    Ph  0422893517

Marshals: Dale Dummett.

Upcoming Marshal Roster

Thank you to those who volunteered to help (noted below in black) at the races to September. The nominees (in blue) have been selected based on results from the previous summer race season and the period since they last helped at a race. Please advise your availability or unavailability to the race committee (race.committee@actvets.cc) as soon as possible.

Crit races are at Stromlo Forest Park on Tuesdays and road races are on Sunday mornings.

Date Event Director Marshals
Summer Series
23rd October Crit Peta Brill
John Ignatius
30th October Crit Ian McVay
Christophe Barberet
4th November Uriarra John Thorn
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Edward Joliffe*, Seymour Savell-boss*, David Jukes*, Lewis Cressy
6th November Crit Damian Copeland
Simon Wells
11th November Sutton Driver Training Centre Warwick Wilson
1 (finish chute), Ian Preston
13th November Crit Simon Porombka
David Witteveen
18th November Old Federal Highway Anthony Meredith
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) David Witham, Tim Brown, John Stokman, Stuart Roesler, Darren Garron
20st November Crit Roger Northcote
Christophe Barberet
25th November Uriarra TT Andy Matz
4 (finish chute & 3 ETCs) Edward Joliffe*, Kim Malcolm *, Howard Moffat*, Peter Jovanovic
27th November Crit Michael David Brice
John Wilson
2nd December Old Federal Highway Kim Malcolm
5 (2 drivers, finish chute & 2 turn marshals) Jonathan Chowns, Graham Tanton, Craig Tozer, Steve Curren
4th December Crit Patrick McNamara
Ian Lake
9th December Dairy Flat Nick Boylan
1 (finish chute) Des Brown
11th December Crit Richard Hedley
Anthony Evans
16th December Cotter Hill Climb Nick Boylan
2 (finish chute & 1 ETCs) Sue Powell*, Conan Liu
18th December Crit Chris Daly
David Medlock

* denotes ETC required for ACT races.


Ian McVay
Race Committee