In this week’s Bleat;

•  Van Repairs

•  Racing this Week

•  Race Report

Ian Morton

Van Repairs

Following an unfortunate incident with the Club Van some urgent repairs were required to the fuel tank.

Many thanks to John McMaster who was able to source and fit a replacement tank.


Saturday, 30th July – Lookout Hill – M & H Age Standard Time Trial

Reminder: All riders must register on the CRMCC Web site ( by 29/7/2022 6:00 PM prior to the race. There is no registration at the event.

Any requests for Grade changes should be sorted out with the Handicapper prior to registration.

Where: Observation lookout on Tidbinbilla Road about 2.5 km towards Tharwa from Point Hut / Tidbinbilla Rd intersection (or about 4.5 km from Tharwa village).
When: 1:30 pm.
Race Description:
20km TT course. Two laps of – Lookout Hill 3.5km toward Tharwa, U turn, 5km toward Point Hut, U turn to Lookout Hill.

Race Director:  Peter Young Contact: Email:    Ph 0414 806 934

Marshals: Paul Welsh ETC, Callum Henshaw, Polly Templeton ETC, Van driver – Anthony Dick


Smiths Road to Apollo Road Secret Handicap – 23rd July

Great day for racing, 14c and no wind.

17 riders turned up for the secret h’cap and all took off in grade order at the same time, riders not knowing what the time handicap was for their grade (or sub grade). These time h’caps would be added to the rider’s respective times across the line to determine the victors.

As could be expected the pack quickly fractured but of course not knowing your grade’s respective h’cap meant you had to go flat out regardless of the lead you had over other riders, even the last rider across the line could win if the h’caps were in their favour.

Steve Crispin and Tristan Dimmock (both A1 grade) had a commanding lead on the road at the completion of the first lap, followed a couple of minutes later by Anthony Murfett (A2) and Jason Irwin (B). A group of 5 riders from A2, B, C1 and C2 followed a further 2 minutes later demonstrating the strength of some riders in the lower grades. Brian Peak approaching the wrong side of 70 was turning back time being part of the group, as was Michael Carr bouncing back from a break.

First back were Tristian and Steve by a good 4 minutes. Tristian getting half a tyre across the line ahead of Steve. Anthony Murfett was next over the line followed in another sprint finish by Jason Irwin. Rowan McMurray sauntered in next, apparently somebody had told him it was 100 lap event in honour of his escapades across the Nullarbor so was somewhat disappointed to see that the race was to be cut short by 98 laps.

Rowan was followed a further 2 minutes later by the composite grade pack, the lower grade riders managing to stay on to the higher grade riders courtesy of David Parker closing down any breakaways resulting from the climb up and over Tennant. Chris Short took the honours from that group narrowly beating a rampaging Brian Peak. Next in that group were Michael Carr, Ian Preston and David Parker.

After adding on the time h’caps the winner of the secret h’cap race was Jason Irwin, followed by Michael Carr, and third was Tristian Dimmock.

A big thanks to the volunteers for making the race happen – Dave McCook, Tony Beasley, Howard Moffat, Andre Swenson, Elizabeth Lowe and to out first aider Simon Whitehead.

Hopefully we will see more members coming out to future races.

Owain Tilley

ps Thanks to Ian McVay for assistance in sorting out the results on RMS.