Graded scratch

More than 50 riders turned out in perfect race conditions for the graded scratch event on .

The Mankewich & Carruthers tandem made life interesting in the small but select group of A graders, proving difficult to hold on the big downhill. But Paul Connor managed to have the last laugh at the finish line, sprinting away for the win. Rohan Verco rounded out the place getters.

Aaron Sedgemen put in a superfast time to gap the field in B grade, leaving Michael Foulds and Reinhard Mauch to fight out the minor placings.

A big field in C grade saw the pressure put on from the start but Mark Stephenson rode strongly for a comfortable win. Anthony Beasley and Terry Moore filled out the podium.

Brian Chugg led the way in D grade, followed by John Ignatius and Des Brown. In E grade David Gunther had a good win followed in by Kathryn Passalis and Jannette Koehler. F grade was taken out by Graham Wilson with Mary Lovett and Mijo Spoljaric taking out second and third placings. And in G grade, Lindsay Graham narrowly outsprinted Tony Weir for the win, with Heather Sommariva rounding out the placings.

Thanks very much to an able team of marshals in Mark Gillett, Bill Frost, Peter Laffery, Robert Kent, and Graham Hendrie.

Mick Donaldson